Evening Bag

After years of promising myself a new evening bag I finally got round to making one.

I had read an article about making a bow shaped bag which I decided to tackle.

image

The bag is made using two rectangles for the outer fabric plus two for the lining plus a strip to make the buckle.

I used a concealed zip as I didn’t want it to show.

After adding interfacing to the two outer pieces they were each added to the zip – so that the zip was in the middle.  Then the lining pieces were added to the zip using a normal zip foot.

Once the zip was added sew the edges and bottom first for the outer and then the same for the lining. Make sure you leave a gap in the base of the lining so that the bag can be turned right side out.
image

I added a wrist strap using beaded cord, which was sewn into one of the edges of the outer.

Leave a Reply

