Vogue V8886 as a winter top

I got this pattern and the fabric recently for my birthday.

The pattern comes with multiple fits, including A – D cup sizes. I’ve got a couple of other patterns which have the options and it’s nice to be able to select the correct size. I can do a fba when working on a pattern with darts – but not sure where I would start for princess seams.

I chose to make option A, the shorter option, but with the three quarter sleeves.

image

I used a heavy weight jersey, so omitted the zip.

The collar sits nicely. I trimmed the lower piece, like the tip for the Peter Pan collar I recently posted. Helped the edge roll under.

Instead of following the instructions and ironing in the edge at the neck I finished the edge with my over-locker the edge stitched it to the main body.

It is worth noting the instructions to attach the lower part of the collar first. I was all set to add by sewing the whole collar together – however that would loose the roll by the neck.

Will make again – maybe the dress next time?

Leave a Reply

