Gertie’s Portrait Blouse – with Peter Pan Collar

As we leave summer and head into autumn I started thinking about outfits than can layer well.

I’d been thinking about trying to follow instructions to draft my own peter pan collar.

Having recently made Gertie’s portrait blouse, and liked it, I thought I’d use it as my base pattern. I used the instructions in Gertie’s book to help me draft the pattern.

Best tips, overlap the shoulder pattern pieces by 1.3cm on the outer edge when you draw the neck and edge shape.

Other fab tip wad reducing the lower collar piece by 3mm so that the upper piece curls over slightly, making sure the seam line is hidden.

image

I finished the top the night before my birthday – and wore it the next day.

I used some pale pink jacard from my stash – making the collar using the slightly darker side.

Was pleased with the finished top, and will be adding collars to other tops in the future.

Leave a Reply

