Colette truffle dress

I’ve made a few outfits from the Colette sewing handbook – http://www.colettepatterns.com. Each outfit I’ve made has worked well and I’m planning to make more from the book when I have time.

They have developed their own size structure, so you need to go with your measurements rather than usual size. I made size 6 – not my usual UK size!

The truffle dress is a lovely dress with a mock wrap front. For the black dress I added sleeves which don’t come with the pattern but I chose some I had from another pattern with similar arm holes.

image

In this one I played with a mixture of tulle and lining with the truffle under-lined in red.

A more casual summer dress was achieved by making it in cotton.

image

The pattern made up well, however needed a minor modification ob the back as it gapped at the neckline. For the cotton one I moved the zip to the side instead of the back which worked well.

Both dresses have been well admired.

Leave a Reply

